Our Curriculum

At Halsnead Primary all our children will study the 2014 National Curriculum for both core and foundation stage subjects. 

In Key Stage One and Key Stage Two, children are taught all the elements of the 2014 National Curriculum for both core (English, Maths and Science) and foundation subjects (history, geography, music, art, physical education (PE), design technology and religious education).

The Foundation Stage children will experience the seven areas of learning that are required and they are organised under the following areas:

 - Personal, Social and Emotional Development

 - Communication and Language

 - Literacy

 - Mathematics

 - Understanding the World

 - Physical Development

 - Expressive Art and Design

These areas underpin the organisation of the learning environment; the activities provided for children and the monitoring of children’s’ progress and development.

At Halsnead, as far as possible a cross-curricular, thematic approach is used to teach the ‘core’ and ‘foundation’ subjects. A theme is selected and applied across a year group each term. By adding this dimension to learning we are able to provide opportunities for key skills to develop across the curriculum and to cultivate creative thinking. 

Religious Education

RE is taught additionally to the National Curriculum by law. We aim to support the spiritual development of each child by providing knowledge and understanding of religious beliefs, practices and festivals. In addition, pupils are given the opportunity to explore concepts in order to understand themselves spiritually. 

Collective worship

Assemblies or reflection time take place daily, different groupings and they are seen as important social and educational occasions, as well as acts of worship. The celebration of various festivals helps us focus on the moral and spiritual aspects of school life and to celebrate diversity, whilst recognising the beliefs we hold in common.

Parents/carers do have the right to withdraw children from religious education and assemblies. If you feel you may wish to do this, please discuss the matter with the Headteacher.

Assembly themes encourage children to consider their community and to emphasise the need for everyone to improve their contribution to it, including skills of co-operation, respect for others and respect for property. There are opportunities to reflect quietly and celebrate achievement and success. Visitors from the local community are welcome to participate.

Curriculum Overview by Year Groups

What does your child learn at school each day? Find information about our curriculum subjects here.

 - Nursery

 - Reception

 - Year One

 - Year Two

 - Year Three

 - Year Four

 - Year Five

 - Year Six